What makes you happy?

Once I read an article. It used to say during times when you feel low, the number one question you should ask yourself is “Doing what would make me happy right now?” The author believed that you had to immediately stop what you are doing and turn your thoughts into action in order to treat yourself.
At first, the idea seemed meaningless to me. After I decided to try since I wouldn’t have anything to loose, I understood that the question wasn’t as easy as you imagined it would be to answer.

I quickly brainstormed. These were the first things that came to my mind.

  • being with friends
  • eating good food
  • cooking
  • singing songs out loud
  • reading the books I want

But I wasn’t satisfied. Reading when you felt low, didn’t change anything. Even eating your favourite pasta and chocolate didn’t give the taste it used to when your head wasn’t clear. Being with friends didn’t mean anything because when you feel down, you were there physically but not mentally, no matter what.

So I started to think once again. What really makes me happy?

Believe me or not, my conclusion was surprising.  Helping others was my answer.  Helping others… At that moment I got aware, I was only genuinely happy when helping someone. No matter what, maybe a community service project, maybe tutoring a student or maybe just helping a friend. But it warmed my heart and put a smile on my face.

I’m not going to tell you to help people. Of course it’s an amazing thing. But today’s moral is that no matter what you do, please take your time to ask yourself the question. “What really makes me happy?” It will neither be quick nor be easy. But if you find the correct answer, you will see that it was worth it at the end of the day.

P.S: Please follow my blog for more posts; it will be really appreciated.

 

One Reply to “What makes you happy?”

Leave a Reply

